Become as Little Children – 3 Reasons for Crying

Jesus with child

5 days ago God granted me a precious gift, baby “Nicole”, my first child. I never knew how it felt to be a father, until Nicole showed up. I never understood God’s feeling towards us, his children, until now.

A famous verse popped into my head, “Assuredly, I say to you, unless you are converted and become as little children, you will by no means enter the kingdom of heaven.” (Matthew 18:3), and I thought I wanted to learn what God meant, practically not by reading a book. So here goes what I’ve learnt so far.

Out of my 5-days experience, I could say I now know why a baby cries.

There are 3 reasons that would make a healthy baby cry

(1) If a baby was hungry

A baby would cry his lungs out, until he ate and was fully satisfied. According to the Bible, a believer should hunger for God’s words and cry unto the Lord and ask for understanding to reach the joy of fullness.

  • How sweet are Your words to my taste, Sweeter than honey to my mouth!” (Psalms 119:103)
  • Your words were found, and I ate them, And Your word was to me the joy and rejoicing of my heart.” (Jeremiah 15:16)

(2) If a baby had a bowel movement or wet his diapers

A baby would also cry so loud, you’d want to kill your self, if he dirtied his diapers. Same thing with us believers, don’t ever think you can clean your sins on your own; call unto Him, who only can cleanse you, and ask for His forgiveness, and His help in your repentance.

  • Wash me thoroughly from my iniquity, And cleanse me from my sin.” (Psalms 51:2)
  • Who can understand his errors? Cleanse me from secret faults.” (Psalms 19:12)

(3) If a baby was not tightly wrapped (a burrito wrap, that is) or hugged

The last reason, I found that would make a baby cry is if he did not feel safe, by being tightly wrapped in his blanket (The nurses at the hospital taught me a way to wrap Nicole that makes her look just like a yummy burrito 🙂 ). If a baby was wrapped but kept a bit a loose, he would still cry, and he would only stop until he was fully tightly wrapped or squeezed in a big hug. Believers should not accept but to be embraced by God and believe in Him as the only refuge at times of trouble.

  • I will say of the Lord, “He is my refuge and my fortress; My God, in Him I will trust.” (Psalms 91:2)
  • His left hand is under my head, And his right hand embraces me.” (Song of Solomon 2:6 and 8:3)
  • The Lord also will be a refuge for the oppressed, A refuge in times of trouble.” (Psalm 9:9)

Please, share with me how else can we become like children?

 

 

One thought on “Become as Little Children – 3 Reasons for Crying”

  1. Mr Dear Mike,

    Congratulations on little Nicole. She is one blessed baby to have you for her earthly father, one who will guide her to know her heavenly Father intimately. What a grand, yet awesome responsibility. You asked how else we can become like children. We must completely depend on God for without Him we can do nothing (John 15:5). Children are the same way. They must depend on their parent for everything. Without someone to show them how– they can do nothing. Children raised without other humans and nurtured by animals cannot speak, do not walk upright and generally take on the environmental patterns of the beasts around them. We are most like God when we follow and imitate Christ (abide in the vine).

    I love your last point about wrapping the baby tightly. It is so so so true. I taught a class at the hospital to new parents called Happiest Baby on the Block. Pediatrician Harvey Karp had this system of calming new babies and one of his techniques was a tight swaddle. If the baby were is for in every way and still fussy the wrap usually does the trick.

    Again, many blessings,
    Dawn

Leave a Reply

