Did God actually say …?

I can’t possibly count the number of times I was deceived into not believing God’s promises. Every time it happens I just hate myself. I hate myself for being so stupid to believe that all-loving, all-merciful God would just betray me.

What kills me the most is that I already took the decision to surrender my life to God, I made Him king over my entirety, so then what? why am I still doubting His wisdom and His omniscience. Or have not yet given everything to Him??

Well, not to get too dramatic,

  1. Taking a decision that God will rule over my whole life is not an easy one, and even if the decision was taken, very easily I can fall. By nature I want to be in control of my life, and even the media around us is not helping: “Regain control of your life”, “You CAN live a better life”, “Why accept your life the way it is?” …etc.
  2. Not wanting to blame someone else, but the problem is not always “just” me. Ask Adam and Eve! Now the serpent was more crafty than any other beast of the field that the Lord God had made. He said to the woman, ‘Did God actually say …?’ (Genesis 3:2) This isn’t what God actually said, but the devil was shaking their trust in God. The devil was deceiving them to fall into the idea of God not being right.

Haven’t you ever felt you’ve been put in a certain path by God, and then after meeting obstacles you ask your self Did God actually say that you should take that path?

  • Did God actually say you should become an Engineer?
  • Did God actually say you should move to Arizona?
  • Did God actually say you should get kids now?
  • …. You get the point.

All I have to say is that if you really crowned God, King over your whole life, and I really mean a true King, unlike the above video, then when you get such thoughts, stand up with power and say Do not rejoice over me, my enemy; When I fall, I will arise; When I sit in darkness, The Lord will be a light to me. (Micah 7:8)

2 thoughts on “Did God actually say …?”

  1. Dear Mike,

    I have missed missed missed missed missed you. I have not gotten notice of a Mike Azer blog post for a long time and when I came here there was nothing. I know you set up something new, but I really didn’t know where it was. I am so thankful to the Lord that you showed up in the inbox of my e-mail today. Your post is so thought-provoking. Giving Jesus control over everything is not easy. I am learning to slow things down and notice the small things and be thankful for the tiniest moments in each and every hour so that I don’t miss Him. As I am with Him more, I know His heart more and as my heart beats with His I have come to realize that if I just do the next right thing, He is glorified and the big decisions happen as a matter of course. It is not so important what our life’s work is or where we live or how many children we have. The important thing is that we live as He would have us live where we are, amongst the people He has surrounded us with and in the work He has given us to do. Am I making sense? When He has our heart, He has us!

    Dawn

    1. I missed you so much too, Dawn. I know it’s been so long, but I hope nothing would take me away from the blog again. You are making perfect sense, I understand what you are saying. Truth be said, I haven’t experienced what you’re saying, but I know this is how it should be, I’m still working on reaching the “Walking with Jesus” experience that your describing. I pray that I reach there, so that when I write, I write what I’m living not what theoretically is correct.

Leave a Reply

