Change Is Not Easy: The Fight Is Necessary For Our Salvation

We usually take St. Paul as our role model for change, but even for him change wasn’t a piece of cake. He wrestled with change to the extent that people who don’t know him and read his words would call him schizophrenic. See what he says:

For what I will to do, that I do not practice; but what I hate, that I do … it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells in me … For the good that I will to do, I do not do; but the evil I will not to do, that I practice.” (Romans 7:14-20)

St. Paul described how he desired to change, but could not always do what he wanted to do because the old sinful nature kept interfering. He, too, experienced the fight; he was not different from the rest of us who are willing to change or perhaps experience a change in nature yet still struggle with the old, fleshly habits.

But guess what, the struggle with temptation and with our sinful nature is actually our way to inherit the Kingdom of Heaven. Amma Theodora said, “Let us strive to enter by the narrow gate. Just as the trees, if they have not stood before the winter’s storms cannot bear fruit, so it is with us; this present age is a storm and it is only through many trials and temptations that we can obtain an inheritance in the Kingdom of Heaven.” Abba Anthony concurred with Amma Theodora; he said “Whoever has not experienced temptation cannot enter into the Kingdom of Heaven.” He even added, “Without temptations no-one can be saved.

Don’t expect that the fight between the old nature and the new nature will end soon. Your whole life you will experience this fight, but pray that God would give you victory over each round.

Thanks be to God, who gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.” (1 Corinthians 15:57)

Who’s your role model for Change? Was change easy for him/her?

4 thoughts on “Change Is Not Easy: The Fight Is Necessary For Our Salvation

  1. Dear Mike,

    I pray for you and our countries every day. I have given your name to other prayer warriors, too, that you would continue to be light in darkness…to be used by the Lord mightily with the spirit of the Apostle Paul. I am reading With a Lion in a Pit on a Snowy Day which is a whole book on what your post is about today. We must prepare ourselves and always be ready to meet the changes that are coming in our world. My role model is Corrie ten Boom. She was about my age when she was taken to a concentration camp for hiding Jews from the Nazis. Be watching the movie, The Hiding Place, she seemed to have my temperament, too. That is why her life meant so much to me.

    Stay safe,
    Dawn

    1. DAWN, I miss reading your comments! Seriously!
      There is a certain feeling that I get from reading your comments that is really indescribable! I wait for your comments every time I write a post. It is because you put a lot of feelings, a lot of love and a lot of sincerity in them.
      I’ve actually never heard of Corrie ten Boom before, I Googled her up and read her story. She seems very interesting, I’ll try to find the movie and watch it soon.
      Thank you so much, Dawn.

  2. Thank you, Mike… I enjoyed this post. I’ve been praying for peace in the Middle East, and for all individuals in this area for the Lord’s protection, providence, and guidance during this time of trial. I’m glad to see this post from you.

    1. Thank you so much, Wayne. Although we’re in a time of tribulation, but I have to confess that it’s a reason that many people are sensing a strong spiritual revival in their lives. Please keep the prayers going 🙂

Leave a Reply

