Is Amos the Prophet, Isaiah’s Father?

Strangely, Google has been sending me a lot of people searching about Amos. I posted about Amos only once, and it was actually on my old blog hosted on Blogger, and when I started using WordPress, I imported it. Click here, if you’d like to read about Amos’ 5 visions.

I thought I’d read more about Amos the prophet, and I discovered that some people confused Amos the prophet, with Amos, Isaiah’s father.

Q: So, Is Amos the Prophet, Isaiah’s Father??

A: No, they are two different people.

Why?

People who confuse both probably do so, because Amos and Isaiah prophesied around the same time 750BC (8th Century BC), but there are two reasons to prove they aren’t.

  1. Although in English both Amos and Amos are spelled similarly, in Hebrew they are spelled quite differently. Amos the prophet is spelled (עָמוֹס), while Amos, Isaiah’s father is spelled (אָמוֹץ).
  2. Amos, Isaiah’s father was the brother of King Amaziah of Juda (Talmud tractate Megillah 15a), while Amos, the prophet, was a sheep herder and a sycamore fig farmer.

That’s all 🙂 I know it’s very short, and more of informational than spiritual, but I felt I should clear the confusion.

Are there other names that you think cause confusion?

2 thoughts on “Is Amos the Prophet, Isaiah’s Father?

  1. Dear Mike,

    Thank-you for this post you’ve done on the prophet Isaiah’s dad. I’ve used the reference of “Talmud tractate Megillah 15a” hoping to find evidence of Isaiah’s family relationship to King Amaziah, but have only found something from the “Dictum of Ulla” regarding a prophet being identified as the son of a prophet if his dad’s name is mentioned in the intro to him. The link that gave me this information from the Megillah 15a reference was (halakhah.com/pdf/moed/Megilah.pdf). Is this the right text for finding the reference to Isaiah being the nephew of King Amaziah?

    Any help you can give me will be greatly appreciated!

    God bless you,

    Russell Bayliss
    Ashford
    Kent
    UK

Leave a Reply

