On Patience

I apologize I haven’t been posting for some time now. I also apologize I interrupted the “Too Busy not to Pray” Series, to talk about patience today.

The topic of “patience” has been hitting me really hard these days, so I decided that I’ll read a bit and see what God has to say!

“But you, O man of God … pursue … patience.” (1 Timothy 6:11)

So I started off reading an article for St. Augustine called On Patience :

He defined patience saying:

“The patience of man, which is right and laudable (or admirable) and worthy of the name of virtue, is understood to be that by which we tolerate evil things with an even mind, that we may not with a mind uneven desert good things, through which we may arrive at better.”

It’s a bit unclear, in other words:

  1. One should not give up, however much s/he suffers.
  2. Tolerating pain and believing that God is able, is a virtue.
  3. One’s belief in God’s ability should not weaken however long the trial.

After the trial, my faith in Him will increase because I have seen his ability and how the problem ended, and as a result, “from the fullness of His grace we have all received one blessing after another” (John 1:16). That’s two blessings! One blessing for tolerating and the other blessing for our faith increasing.

I pray that God would give me patience, and to give all those who are in need.

I would really love to read what you guys have to say. Think of these verses:

  • “By your patience possess your souls.” (Luke 21:19)
  • “But let patience have its perfect work, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking nothing” (James 1:4)
  • “We wait in hope for the LORD; he is our help and our shield.” (Psalm 33:20)
  • “I wait for you, O LORD; you will answer, O Lord my God.” (Psalm 38:15)
  • “How long must your servant wait?” (Psalm 119:84)
5 thoughts on “On Patience”

  1. Dear Mike,

    No matter how long between posts we always seem to post on the same topic. My post today was on patience, too. I hope you’ll check it out http://dschondog.wordpress.com/2012/07/24/gods-timing/. Here in the states we just had a 24-year-old neurophysiology doctoral student go into a movie and shoot everyone with automatic weapons. So far 13 have died from the injuries. Others are critical. I mention this in my blog. It happened in Aurora, Colorado at the Century 21 movie theater. You need that information to know what I am talking about if you go there.

    When you quoted St Augustine I really was confused. I am so happy you explained it after the quote. I am wondering about tolerating evil things. When do we take up the task and when do we simply wait for God. That is the difficult part for me. It’s that old serenity prayer. Do you know what I mean?

    Dawn

  2. Dear Dawn,
    Yeah, I heard about the shooting; it is very hard to believe that someone would do that. I used to live in Fort Collins, North of Aurora when I did my Masters, so I relate very much to Colorado. I always said that Colorado was a place from Heaven. I was really devastated to hear the news.
    I do know what you mean Dawn, the secret is always in good old prayer 🙂
    I think the answer to your question is, BOTH. I’m not that old, but in my whole life I don’t think I’ve seen God answer in a hurry; He always takes His time. So I think the answer is take up the task, while waiting till He answers. That’s how He works with me, I take up the task knocking doors till something opens. If something opens then it must be Him, it is said that “What he opens, no one can close; and what he closes, no one can open” (Revelation 3:7)

Leave a Reply

