Watch out for Medusa!

Medusa by Carvaggio

Merry Christmas, Everybody! 🙂

Although in mid-winter, Christmas is a season of warmth! A season of expressing feelings and cherishing family and friends bonds.

But, Watch out for Medusa!

In Greek methology, Medusa is an underground monster, that changes people into stone upon directly looking at her.

If she’s a myth, what should I watch out for?!

Medusa changed people into stone, and that’s exactly what Satan is doing to us, even without us noticing.

People are losing their human hearts; we are losing our sensitivity and our emotions. It might be because technology and social media are replacing human interactions. It may also be that we are getting busier and busier each day, and have no time to spend on simple conversations, visiting family and friends, or even short phone calls.

Sad to say, even though I’m writing this post about sensitivity and emotions, attending funerals don’t affect me the same way they used to. I even reached the point to question myself why did Jesus weep at the tomb of Lazarus? (John 11:35)

Another example that really strikes me is Nehemiah:

So it was, when I heard these words, that I sat down and wept, and mourned for many days; I was fasting and praying before the God of heaven. (Nehemiah 1:4)

He wept, fasted and prayed when heard that survivors from the captivity are in distress and that Jerusalem’s wall was broken down. The striking part is that Nehemiah has probably never seen Jerusalem, he was either born in captivity or taken to captivity in a very young age. Another striking part is that he was the King’s cupbearer, so he lived in a royal environment, why would he care about others?

OK, so what if I’m losing my emotions?

This loss of sensitivity is affecting us spiritually as well. How can we love people if we lost our emotions? How can we share their feelings, if we lost our sympathy to others? Actually, how can we love God if we lost our feelings? that’s why God said:

If someone says, “I love God,” and hates his brother, he is a liar; for he who does not love his brother whom he has seen, how can he love God whom he has not seen? (1 John 4:20)

When a person’s heart turns to stone, he can no longer relate to others, and no longer can he be affected by events and situations that God may put in his paths to change him.

Sin is like a catalyst to the turning-to-stone and heart-hardening process. You always have the option not to look Medusa straight in the eyes. Jesus is continuously calling you, and you have the option to listen or look to Medusa.

Today, if you will hear His voice, Do not harden your hearts as in the rebellion (Hebrews 3:15)

Alright so Medusa got me, I have a heart of stone, what can I do?!

Simple! Pray! Pray that God may renew your heart, and give you a heart like His.

David asked God for a new heart, simply sayingCreate in me a clean heart, O God (Psalm 51:10) and he was given.

God is ready to give you also a new heart, and He already gave us the promise.

I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit within you; I will take the heart of stone out of your flesh and give you a heart of flesh. (Ezekiel 36:26)

May we all pray that God may change our hearts of stone and give us hearts of flesh, give us His heart!

17 thoughts on “Watch out for Medusa!

  1. Saying that prayer everyday, that God will give me and the rest of the people I meet (from all walks of life) a right and tender heart to hear His words 🙂 Thanks Mike for sharing!

  2. Oh Mike this is a spectacular post! Thoroughly enjoyed reading it! You spoke on something that we all need to think about during this season. It is true that to some extent we are becoming desensitized to the things that are happening around us because I think to some extent if terrible things aren’t happening in our backyards we could care less if it is happening to our neighbor. The scriptures you used to solidify this point are perfect. May God create in all of us a new heart so that we may be more like Him! God bless you!

  3. Feeling some hardness of heart. Not all the time. Not in all places. Just enough to know that I don’t like it. Praying not only for myself, but others in the same spot. It comes on like you say, slowly, un-noticed, incemental. Open our eyes Lord!

  4. Mike~ I saved this back so I could read it again when I got some of my brain cells back.
    Oh my word. I can sense my heart softening and will take your advice about how to pray. Funny that my true heart is all about helping men and women overcome the hurts of their past, and yet, it is my habit to run away from that pain, even someone elses. Running is not my heart, but it appears to be my habit. Your post made me realize that there is still more of my “Protection racket” going on than I was aware of. Thanks for helping me to see it hiding there in plain sight.
    Think I’ll save this back again and reread in a couple of months.
    Blessings,
    Deborah

    1. Deborah, thank you so much for coming back and replying again. It’s actions like these that really raise my encouragement to write more, believing that God’s words are bearing fruit.
      I pray that God would soften all our hearts, removing all the stone, and creating hearts of flesh in all of us. Even I, who wrote this post, don’t have a true heart of flesh, I’m still in the changing phase, and will continue to ask God to create in me a new heart till the last day of my life 🙂

Leave a Reply

