Is It Right For You To Be Angry? (Part 2)

Coptic Icon of Christ feeding the multitudes

After posting part 1, I felt I was not fit for posting Part 2; I was suffering from what Jonah suffered from, and I hadn’t yet come out of it!

How could I have offered a solution to a problem that I couldn’t find a solution for?!

Thank God I’m out of it now .. and I think the two main things that God led me to do were:

  1. Give thanks for EVERYTHING
  2. Think more about others (Thanks to Deb‘s comment in the last post)

1. Giving thanks for Everything

St. Paul in his epistle to the Philippians says:

Rejoice in the Lord always. Again I will say, rejoice!Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus. (Philippians 4:4-7)

God through Paul tells us that in the midst of troubles, we should give thanks. Giving thanks to God in the midst of problems is the best proof of our faith that He will get us out of it! And since we have the faith that God will get us out of it, then why are we living misery, we should rejoice!

It seems difficult, God knows that, that’s why He said we need prayers and supplications!

2. Thinking more about others

I have to thank Debbie Feller for sharing her experience of how she met Jesus, who got her out of her depression and saved her after several trials to commit suicide. Her advice was that a person should think less about himself/herself and think more about others.

In this point I will not quote a Bible verse, but I will ask you to contemplate on the following:

  1. What if Jonah had thought less about himself, and had thought more about the people God wanted to save?
  2. What if Jesus had thought more about Himself, and had thought less about the people He wanted to save?
  3. What if you think less about yourself, and think more about the people God wants to save?

It doesn’t have to be that your troubles are the reason for others to be saved in the present, but may be in the future. Or it may be simply that God wants you to lose some pride and/or gain more faith.

I’ll be more than happy to read your comments, also how you believe “thinking more about others” could help you out of your low state!

10 thoughts on “Is It Right For You To Be Angry? (Part 2)”

  1. Dear Mike,

    This is an incredible post! You are so transparent…such an example to me. You could not write Part 2 until you had worked through your own anger. God honored the fact that you would share your situation and the anger it invoked and reach out for help. God bless Debbie Feller, too, for being willing to share herself. What a wonderful community here at mikeazer.wordpress.com! People here seem to think of others more than themselves and really make a difference.

    You mention being thankful for everything. This past year my life was transformed by Ann Voskamp’s book 1000 Gifts. In her rich prose she takes us on a journey where she tells us how she learned to be thankful in all things. I mention it here in case anyone has not read it yet. I love your statement, “Giving thanks to God in the midst of problems is the best proof of our faith that He will get us out of it!” I would add “or equip us to handle it.” Sometimes we have to go through, but He will be with us.

    Lots of richness here, Mike,
    Thanks,
    Dawn

    1. Dawn, I really don’t deserve all these beautiful words! Thank you for being part of this lovely community that I really love and cherish.

      I’ll try finding Ann Voskamp’s book, and read it. The title itself is intriguing!

      Thanks, Dawn, for the addition, you’re right, some people live with the problem till the end of their lives, but God equips them to handle it.

  2. Thanks Mike! Your second point is so poignant it almost brought me to tears. This last year I have been exactly there! Last year I began to go through a trial which left me broken and spent. So many days I was angry enough to spit nails; But God dealt with me tenderly and told me to hold my peace for the sake of my family and the body.
    I have done my best to do just that and somehow in the midst God has brought me a measure of healing. I guess the moral of the story is give it to God don;t take it out on the world.

    1. Thanks, Pastor J, for sharing.

      I love how you said that we should “give it to God, don’t take it out on the world”!
      It’s true how many times one would be angry or very tired and take it out on people and make fights out of nothing.

  3. Your words ring true. I am learning it; it is like getting myself in a motion or mood out of myself…During my devotions I find it so rewarding to thank God for all kinds of things. It reverses me.

  4. Mike, I really appreciated those 3 questions you had us ask ourselves. wow. That pretty much brings it around for me! And what you said about if we have faith that God will get us out of or through our situations, then we should be rejoicing. Another wow for me. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you for re-opening my eyes tonight to the wonder and goodness of Him!
    God bless you as He leads you through!

Leave a Reply

