Is It Right For You To Be Angry? (Part 1)

Last night I experienced a feeling that I have never experienced before!

It was the feeling of pressure and anger to the extent that I couldn’t stand my life anymore!

I understood why people reach the point that they want to commit suicide!

I used to tell myself that the people who want to end their lives are fools, sinners, and are doomed for eternity! … I still do, but I realized what makes them reach that point!

It’s all about the feeling of imprisonment in surrounding events!

It’s when one is given a responsibility that he/she doesn’t want and there’s no out of it!

It’s the feeling of not being able to refuse the current situation!

It’s the feeling when the “only door” one can see out of his/her present life, would slam shut in one’s face!

At the trough of my depression, I remembered Jonah!

Jonah was given a responsibility he didn’t want, so he decided to flee from God (Jonah 1:3)!

He knows he can’t flee from God, but he thought he’d flee from the task! Just like if my manager would ask me to finish a task that I don’t want to do, so the next time I’d see him, I’d start talking about other things I’ve done, not mentioning this one specific task, hoping he’d forget or assign it to someone else, or even start a discussion how this task is useless and not needed or out of my scope and I’d flee from the task. Or when a mother asks her daughter to come home early to help her with some chores, and she’d be late pretending she forgot or actually start a fight how she’s not given the freedom to live her life, so she’d flee from the task!

First time Jonah tries to kill himself

Jonah saw a door out of his responsibility, he’ll travel to Tarshish. But God slammed that door in the face of Jonah! “The LORD sent out a great wind on the sea, and there was a mighty tempest on the sea, so that the ship was about to be broken up.” (Jonah 1:4)

When the only door Jonah saw would get him out of the responsibility closing right before his eyes, he decided he wanted to die! But Jonah knows it’s a sin to kill himself so he tried to be smart about it; “Pick me up and throw me into the sea” (Jonah 1:12)

So when he was thrown, God also closed the door of death and that door of fleeing from him!

PS. This is exactly what happened to me! I tried fleeing from my responsibility and BAAANG! that door slammed in my face!

Poor Jonah (or Mike, that is)! You ain’t goin’ nowhere! 😦

Jonah asked God to take away his life two more times!

The first in (Jonah 4:3-4)

Jonah: Now, LORD, take away my life, for it is better for me to die than to live.

God: Is it right for you to be angry?

… and the second in (Jonah 4:8-9)

Jonah: It would be better for me to die than to live.

God: And Is it right for you to be angry?

Jonah: β€œIt is,” he said. β€œI’m so angry I wish I were dead”

In both times, God asked Jonah, “Is it right for you to be angry?”

Wanting something different from God (or even managers and parents), and not given the option to refuse is really painful! What’s more painful is the feeling of imprisonment that even when you try to flee you fail! Just like trapping a house-fly in an empty glass!

This can really make you hate life, but is it right?!

I really want to hear your thoughts!!

Update (12/7/2011): The first comment I got was from Warrioress, so I went over to check her blog. The latest post she had on her blog had an example of the despair and desperate state one could reach! She reached the point that she shot both her children!

18 thoughts on “Is It Right For You To Be Angry? (Part 1)”

  1. I find myself amused at God rather than angry. It’s easier to simply go with the flow and not attempt to swim upstream. God always wants what is best for me, in the long run. I may not see it initially though, but eventually I do. I trust this now. It took time to learn and trust Him but life has taught me that this is the case. When He does not answer my prayers or allows situations that I just don’t understand, I’ve learned to simply trust Him and no longer question what He’s doing.

    1. Thanks Naphtali πŸ™‚
      Egypt is a lovely country! People are very simple and warm! I have always been proud to be one of God’s blessed people (Isaiah 19:25)!
      Thanks for your prayers πŸ™‚

  2. Dear Mike,

    I really don’t know where you are going with this post, but I have been in this situation for a year now where I work. I do not want to be there, but when I try to get out EVERY SINGLE door slams shut in my face. And, besides that, I am getting a poor work reputation because I can’t do the things they are asking me to do at work. When I don’t do them I’m called insubordinate. One manager even called me “toxic”. Why they have not fired me, I do not know. NOTHING and NO ONE is being given permission to release me. I hear you loud and clear.

    I need to see Part II. I need counsel for the pilgrim velcroed to an undesirable and hazardous path not of her own choosing. I am thankful for the people I care for at work. I am thankful for the few who have stuck up for me at their own peril. I am thankful I am paid well. Have I been thankful for the situation? No. I just realized I haven’t been, just at this moment. I must pray. Thank you for this realization–right here in your comment section.

    I will be back for Part II,
    Dawn

    1. Dawn, you are pressuring me to put a lot of prayer, study and skill into part 2 .. I need that! πŸ™‚ Thanks!

      I totally understand what you mean, I am currently going through the SAME EXACT situation you are going through.

      In Egypt there’s a saying, “a blind leads a blind, and both fall in a pit” .. LOL πŸ˜€ That’s I need you to pray that God would be writing the second post, not me!

      I also can’t wait to read what God will write in part II πŸ™‚

  3. Wow Mike . . .this is good. Before coming to Christ, I attempted suicide twice. Didn’t take. Years later, I found myself in a situation like you described somewhat, that I couldn’t get out of, and I no longer could try to kill myself (I knew that wasn’t God’s will for me!). At that time, what I thought I heard was that it was the person who I was suffering this tremendous pressure from . .. it was his time. So I hung on tight. Cried a lot. Suffered much. The oppression was heavy. But if God said it was his time, then this was his time. God got me through it . . . alive and strengthened for waiting on Him.

    1. Deb, you are the only person I know who actually tried suicide! I know a couple who said they wanted, but none who actually tried!
      I would love it if you could share your experience, how you got through it / out of it!
      Thank πŸ™‚

      1. Mike, not long after my second attempt (both times overdoses), while I was expecting our first child, the lady where I went to exercise and do aerobics, told me about Jesus and invited me to church. I went forward at the first altar call and accepted Him. God rescued me and brought me out of it! One of the first things He had me do was that He told me to think of others. So much time spent thinking bad thoughts of myself and spiraling downward without knowing His love and truth in my life, was not good! So I did and all I can say is how thankful I am! God bless you, Mike, and all He is doing through you.

      2. That’s amazing, Deb! It’s awesome to see how God changes us into the image of His Son!
        I am also sure that God made you reach that level of despair to feel for others who are suffering and need someone that went through what they are going through!
        If I have cancer, who would I believe would understand me, other than someone who has cancer, but is happy?
        If I lost a child, who would I listen to, other than someone who lost a child, but is happy?
        May God use you, Deb, to help and reach others! God bless you!
        PS. I’ll be sure to put “Thinking more about others” in Part II.

  4. Mike you have a comical way of speaking about responsiblities that we all try to run from. I think I truly understand what you are talking about in terms of that Jonah feeling. I’ve also been there and I still feel like I get overwhelmed when more responsibilities are piled up on me especially those I don’t want to do but take courage in all this because it just means that if you can be trusted with little, you can be trusted with much (Luke 16:10). πŸ˜€ Stay blessed my friend.

    1. Thanks, Sherline πŸ™‚ The beauty of the Bible is that you can always find people to relate to, like Jonah, and find God’s words that give the solution, the comfort and the power.

Leave a Reply

