Would God use me?

Sometimes, one would ask himself if he/she was worthy for God to use him/her to reach others. In this post, I’ll lay out real conversations between me and God and how He got me to believe that He’ll use me!

Blessed dad, in his latest post, shared his experience at the DMV; how he asked 2 ladies if they had known Christ, and talked about God with them!

I mentioned blessed dad, because I just read his blog post, but he’s not an exception, there are many who, unlike me, have the faith that God is using them.

I may be suffering from an inferiority complex, but many times feel that I’m a nobody; there’s nothing special about me, but God being the wonderful person He is would tell me, “Mike, you’re not the first. Remember my conversation with Gideon?!”

 “O my Lord, how can I save Israel? Indeed my clan is the weakest in Manasseh, and I am the least in my father’s house.” And the LORD said to him, “Surely I will be with you, and you shall defeat the Midianites as one man.” (Judges 6:15-16)

Alright Lord, I’m not a nobody, but I’m too young! Maybe in a few years I could start serving you, but then God reminds me that Jeremiah said the same thing.

“Ah, Lord GOD! Behold, I cannot speak, for I am a youth.” But the LORD said to me: “ Do not say, ‘I am a youth,’ For you shall go to all to whom I send you, And whatever I command you, you shall speak. Do not be afraid of their faces, For I am with you to deliver you,” says the LORD. (Jeremiah 1:6-8)

Then I tell my self, OK I’m not a nobody and age is not a big deal, but again, talking is just not my thing! I am not sure if I will be able to serve God this way. God this time points me to Moses!

“O my Lord, I am not eloquent, neither before nor since You have spoken to Your servant; but I am slow of speech and slow of tongue.” So the LORD said to him, “Who has made man’s mouth? Or who makes the mute, the deaf, the seeing, or the blind? Have not I, the LORD? Now therefore, go, and I will be with your mouth and teach you what you shall say.” (Exodus 4:10-12)

I’m out of excuses!

God just got me to believe that however weak, untalented and inexperienced I am, He can use me and has a job made just for me!

You may be asking why there’s an image of a donkey in the post. Well, it comforts me to know that God talked through Balaam’s donkey! 🙂 .. I believe (hope) talking through me would be an easier task for God! .. LOL

Did you ever have doubts that God could use you?!

27 thoughts on “Would God use me?”

  1. LOL. It’s funny because I just finished reading Judges 6 and you make mention of it here regarding Gideon. Awesome post. I think that the reason we ever feel inferior before people and God is because we don’t understand what it means to be “fearfully and wonderfully made” (Psalm 139:14). I still think that I struggle with understanding my own worth and yet God accepts us just as we are because He made us. I love how you talked yourself out of excuses to understand that you are worth God’s worth. If God can use anything, He can surely use you. Sometimes it’s not about being “used” it’s just accepting that you are who you are because God made you to be. Stay blessed. 🙂

    1. Thanks, Sherline! You’re right, but accepting yourself is actually a two-edged sword! You need to accept yourself, but in the mean time, not accept your self and seek to be better. The balance between both is really difficult!

  2. Actually what you said suits what’s happening in Egypt nowadays. We don’t have the courage to spread God’s word among non believers. One can’t blame them coz we’re not doing our part. WE FEAR THEM!!!

    1. Fear is one part, and the other is that evangelism is prohibited in Egypt. Earlier today I commented on Dschondog’s Blog post about salt, saying that I believe that when God said that our words should be seasoned with salt, He meant that like salt dissolves and disappears in a glass of water, but still leaves a strong flavor, our words with others may not be explicitly about God, but have God hidden in them, and therefore leave a strong impact on people.

    1. LOL .. With all due respect to Gideon, Jeremiah and Moses, but I also think it was the Donkey! 🙂 Thanks for the encouragement! It’s comments like yours that encourage me to write more, and make me believe that God is using my simple blog! Hope to see you again!

  3. I loved this Mike! Thank you for sharing that conversation. It sounds a lot like me. 🙂 I am so much better writing than verbalizing. Praying that He speak through me when ever He wants to! God bless you!

  4. Dear Mike,

    I LOVE the Bible for just this reason. It keeps a record of the flawed people God actually used giving those of us who are deeply flawed hope and confidence. It truly is the inspired, inspiring Word of God.

    Thanks for reminding me,
    Dawn

    1. Hi Doma 🙂
      Preaching is only part of it, the other part is daily interactions with people. When people meet you, they meet Christ, without you talking about Religion or beliefs. 🙂

  5. Thank you MIko for your words that were right on what I needed. These days, I’ve really been seeing my weakness in light of the great task of sharing God’s love with soooo many lost people. Sometimes I think it’s the devil fighting me and discouraging me with my weaknesses. But, the other day, I was told that our weaknesses are God’s gifts to us to humble us. What amazes me is that He wants to use us. If He’s called us to a task, will He not provide what is necessary since He called us knowing our nature and knowing our weaknesses? I’m mostly thinking out loud here but hope it encourages you too. Recently was meditating on Gideon too. Awesome story! Isaiah is someone else who was very humbled when he was first called. Yet, God used him greatly!

    1. Hey Marmoura 🙂 That’s a lovely way of seeing it! I never thought of it this way, but it is so true! If God ever gave me a task that I could do alone, I would forget that it was through His grace that I was able! Thanks 🙂

  6. Hey Mike! Good post! I have to tell you I have been a pastor since 1991 and I still have my doubts sometimes about God being able to accomplish His purposes through me! The fact of the matter is that I have come to it that His ability to use me is pretty much assured only when I am certain of my own inability. So now when I feel like I cannot do it I pretty much know it’s going to happen!

    1. Thanks for sharing, Pastor J! Your comment is staright from God’s Words!

      (God speaking) My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness … (Paul speaking) For when I am weak, then I am strong.” ( 2 Corinthians 12:9-10)

      Wow! You’ve been a Pastor for 20 years, now!
      God Bless you and may He give you the strength to continue in His service for many years to come! 🙂

  7. Mike, I just wanted to come by and say thank you for the comment on my blog, and for following me. After reading some of your posts, I’m interested to know more of what you think, so I’ve decided to follow you as well. Thank you for sharing and encouraging fellow believers. Wayne

Leave a Reply

