Get up, Humble down and Change!

One of my favorite passages in the bible is Jeremiah 18:1-11, which shows God’s ability to change EVERYBODY. He has the ability to save even -those whom we see as- the worst sinners.

I pray that the message in this post would touch us, however much you may find flaws in the writing style, because I feel I fell to satan’s tricks that led me to believe that God cannot save everyone, and I don’t want you to fall for it too!

Before You start reading, please play this video

In this post, I’ll just comment on the first 4 verses.

1 The word which came to Jeremiah from the LORD, saying: 2 “Arise and go down to the potter’s house, and there I will cause you to hear My words.” 3 Then I went down to the potter’s house, and there he was, making something at the wheel. 4 And the vessel that he made of clay was marred in the hand of the potter; so he made it again into another vessel, as it seemed good to the potter to make.

While reading this passage today, it was like the first time for me to read the words, “Arise and Go down”. It may be taken from a literal point of view that Jeremiah was sitting down, so God asked him to get up, and that potteries are usually in valleys where they could find good clay, so God asked him to go down to them. Yet, I truly believe that if one thinks deeper into each and every word, he’d find more to it than just the obvious meaning.

(1) Arise

Arise to me always has a link to resurrection from death, or getting up from a fall (sin). Arise here is a message to me that to understand the coming part I NEED TO GET UP FROM NOT BELIEVING THAT GOD CAN SAVE EVERYONE!

I have been lost in the thought that God will only save the good people, and I totally forgot that Jesus said that “those who are well have no need of a physician, but those who are sick. I did not come to call the righteous, but sinners, to repentance.” (Mark 2:17).

So the first step is to believe that God has the ability to save all!

(2) and go down

Going down usually in the bible means to humble yourself. Well, to see God working with sinners you need to humble yourself for two major reasons.

The first is obvious, YOU ARE A SINNER, so for God to work with you, you need to humble yourself. You just got up from the fall of not believing that God could save, but this shouldn’t make you boast. Knowing that you are a sinner and that you need to change helps God change you and save you. David in Psalm 18 says, “for You will save the humble people, But will bring down haughty (condescendingly pride) looks” (Psalm 18:27)

The second which may not be as obvious as the first, and I personally have fell in several times, is humbling ourselves when helping out our brothers and sisters whom have fallen. St. John Chrysostom once said, “we should not speak as if from a righteous teacher’s chair, but with love lean down your backs, and hold on to those who have fallen, after having your feet completely steadfast, so that God’s spirit can raise us up with them, without us falling on to the ground“.

Second step is humble yourself, so God can change you, and use you to change others!

Conclusion

Instead of writing a conclusion, I will reiterate what Origen (a Christian writer and teacher who lived in the 2nd century) had said in his homily on Jeremiah.

As long as we are in this life, we are still made of clay that can be shaped, whether it is of vice or virtue. Vice can be shaped into a new virtue, and the same with virtue, it also can be changed into vice.  Until the day comes that our lives end, and we pass through the fire. Passing through the fire would harden the soft clay, and there will not be a possibility for change

A hope this post would trigger us to Get up, Humble down and Change!

9 thoughts on “Get up, Humble down and Change!”

  1. What more can I say but AMEN and AMEN! Great post no matter the flaws. My spirit was stirred reading this. God is able to do all things but FAIL! O, to in the hands of The Potter. I know I needed to be molded and shaped, always breaking me of mine own will as I submit so that I can be made complete in Him. To God be the glory! This reminds me of of a post I wrote months back called Breaking Me of My Own Will. It’s good to reflect and do a self check making sure I am aligning myself with His will and not my own. God bless you as you go forward in the Lord. May each step taken be for advancing The Kingdom.

    Terra
    http://virtuouswoman73.wordpress.com
    Living Simply In Abundance

    1. Thanks Terra! I know there may be some flaws, English is not my first language, but I always pray that God may allow people to understand and be touched by His words 🙂
      In this post I wanted to go beyond the usual understanding of the passage that God is not yet done with me. The meaning I wanted to show was that to see God work in others, I need to get up from the borders and the path that I drew for God to work in, and also to humble my self to try to understand His ways.
      Again, I’d like to welcome you to my Blog! 🙂

  2. Amen! You are welcome Mike. I look past the small things and looker deeper into what the writer is trying to convey, so that’s all I seen! Thank you for welcoming me. Looking forward to following your blog. 🙂

  3. This Jeremiah passage is also one of my favourites… Phillip Keller did a wonderful sermon on this 30 years ago and it has always stayed close to my heart.
    I enjoyed your post on it lots!

Leave a Reply

