God’s message: PEACE!!! (Part 1)

Since I started my current job, I have been having problems finding parking space. I had no option, but to park in an unsafe neighborhood and walk to work.  I depended that I finish work before dark and that nobody would steal a car in day light (I hoped).

One night I dreamt that I went to work with both my current car and the one before (don’t ask how), then I started my walk to work and for some reason I couldn’t find my way; I tried all streets in that neighborhood, but none would lead to my work. I decided I’d go back to my cars and go to work and maybe I’d be lucky to find a parking space there, when I reached there I only found my old car, although I was sure I parked both next to each other. Add to that, my old car’s driver’s door was open and wouldn’t close.

I decided to seek help and ask if anyone saw what happened to the cars.

A young kid saw me and took me up to the apartment where he lived. We went out to the balcony and he pointed at some young men driving very fancy cars, which appear to be stolen and he told me, if anyone stole my car it would be them, because it’s their job.

There were maybe 15 people, more than what I can handle alone, so I decided I’ll just take my old car and go home.

(Here comes the important part!)

I suddenly discovered that I was barefooted the whole time, but I was overwhelmed for not finding my car that I didn’t notice. The smiling kid, who was an orphan and lived with his grandmother and sister, offered me a pair of old sandals that I wore and headed back to my old car.

I, then, woke up and started thinking about that strange dream.

I thought that it was just my subconscious playing games on me, because finding a safe parking space is something that I think of daily.

My wife is a believer that some dreams are messages from God, I’m not! I know God is able to use people’s dreams to send messages, and I know that the bible has many incidents of God using dreams, but I was never one of those people.

Despite what I just said, this was the first time that I woke up and felt that it wasn’t just my mind playing games, but there was some sort of message. My wife and I started discussing what that dream could have meant, and we both remembered that there was a passage in the Bible that had to do with being barefooted, Ephesians 6.

Ephesians 6:10-20 talks about “The Whole Armor of God“, and verse 15 specifically talks about footwear. The verse reads, “having shod your feet with the preparation of the gospel of peace” (Ephesians 6:15 NKJV).

It was then that I realized that being barefooted meant that I lacked inner peace!

Inner peace, just like shoes, keeps one unhurt from what he/she steps on. You could step on thorns with your shoes knowing it won’t hurt, because it won’t get to you. Same with inner peace, you’d pass through down times, problems in life, bad days at work, family problems, and the list goes on, yet you know you won’t get hurt.

(I’ll elaborate more on this in Part 2)

I knew I lacked that, I was (and still am) way far from having real inner peace! (but I won’t give up!)

Later that day, I still had doubts if that dream was really from God, or was it me making up stories about God talking to me in my sleep. I, then, received an email from a friend of mine with some nice thoughts about Joseph interpreting the baker and butler’s dreams (Genesis 40). It was only when I read the verse that said, “do not interpretations (of dreams) belong to God?” (Genesis 40:8 NKJV) that I felt God telling me that it was Him who sent the dream, and it was also Him who interpreted it.

Leave a Reply

